Print this page

President’s Award - 2014

May 12, 2015

On behalf of the Executive Board it is my pleasure to announce the recipient of the 2014 President’s Award. Brother Grant Nelsen has shown exceptional leadership as shop steward at the Nav Canada ACC in Surrey, B.C. and as unit chair of the Surrey unit. Working closely with other shop stewards and colleagues in the area, his innovative approach and ability to adapt to changing member needs has resulted in a thriving and active local membership. His positive and collaborative approach has also helped to establish outstanding working relationships with members and management and he continues to be an ambassador for a healthy workplace.

The President’s Award is presented annually to a member, other than a Table Officer or Executive Board member, who has contributed to the Local in the example of our first President, Brother Ed Donoghue, who gave of himself so that the Local could be born and grow.

Typically, the President’s Award recipient is a volunteer who has worked tirelessly on behalf of our members, encouraging them to come together to support each other and to hear new ideas.  The recipient is a respected workers’ advocate, and has demonstrated leadership through their many union activities, some of which may include serving on committees and leading initiatives.  The recipient has earned the respect of our members by providing service, guidance, and support to them during difficult times, all with good humour and a ready wit.   The recipient has enhanced the reputation of the Local through their leadership, persistence, and professionalism.

Please join me on congratulating Brother Grant Nelsen on this award.


Dave Cupples
President, IBEW Local 2228