Print this page

President’s Award - 2016

Aug 29, 2017

On behalf of the Executive Board it is my pleasure to announce Brother Michel Pettigrew as the recipient of the 2016 President’s Award.

The President’s Award is presented annually to a member who has contributed to the Local in the example of our first President, Brother Ed Donoghue, who gave of himself so that the Local could be born and grow.

Some highlights of Brother Pettigrew’s involvement in the past year include his work on our soon to be re-launched website, the launch of our member forum and once again coordinating promotional items which were distributed to members via the regional reps and units. These have all had a direct affect on the local’s ability to communicate with members and help to enable a sense of belonging and pride in our union.

Typically, the President’s Award recipient is a volunteer who has worked tirelessly on behalf of our members, encouraging them to come together to support each other and to hear new ideas. The recipient is a respected workers’ advocate, and has demonstrated leadership through their many union activities, some of which may include serving on committees and leading initiatives. The recipient has earned the respect of our members by providing service, guidance, and support to them during difficult times, all with good humour and a ready wit. The recipient has enhanced the reputation of the Local through their leadership, persistence, and professionalism.

I wish to extend the gratitude of the Local to Brother Pettigrew for his ongoing leadership. Please join me in congratulating him on this award.


Dave Cupples
President, IBEW Local 2228