Print this page

Bargaining Update #1 – IBEW 2228

Oct 3, 2017

We are pleased to provide IBEW employees and their managers an update on the status of collective bargaining.

The parties met in Ottawa from September 25th to 29th, 2017 to exchange proposal and begin bargaining on the renewal of the collective agreement, which will expire on December 31, 2017. Our objective is to renew the agreement prior to December 31.

The IBEW bargaining team consists of Paul Cameron, Michel Gaulin, Glen Kautz, Donald Dionne, Meaghan Olmstead, Andre Lenarcik, Derrick Shaffer, Tristan Smith and Luc Couture.

The NAV CANADA bargaining team consists of Sylvain Guindon, Ken Walker, Jim Stetson, Warren Gosselin, William Estrada, Marc Lacroix, Dustin Abbott and Karen Donovan-Bhoi.

The teams had very positive, full and open discussions on complex issues including Training and Development, Staffing, Employment Security, Hours of Work, Overtime, Premiums, and Leave. While some issues have already been resolved, more discussion on these items is required. As part of our normal approach to negotiations, we will not be publicising any specifics regarding issues under review.

The parties have agreed to meet again on November 28th to December 1st in Ottawa in order to conclude discussions for the renewal of the collective agreement.


Paul Cameron                                                             Sylvain Guindon

Business Manager                                                      Manager, Labour Relations

IBEW Local 2228                                                       NAV CANADA