Print this page

History of Local 2228

Up until the passage of the Public Service Staff Relations Act (PSSRA) in 1967, federal government employees worked without a collective agreement. Remuneration and working conditions were arbitrarily set by the Treasury Board or Cabinet. The passage of the PSSRA gave employees the right to organize themselves into unions and bargain collectively for better pay and working conditions.

The IBEW Local 2228 came into existence during this period. This is a brief outline of our Local’s history:

1966 to 1970
1971 to 1980
1980 to 1990
1991 to 2000
2001 to the Present

1966 to 1970: The Union Local 2228 is Born

1966 – Air and marine technicians from the Department of Transport begin to organize themselves into an association called the Canadian Air Marine Technical Electronics Group (CAMTEG).

October, 1967 – CAMTEG delegates meet in Ottawa to form Local 2228 of the IBEW.

September 1968 – The Public Service Staff Relations Board (PSSRB) denies the application of PSAC, based on votes from 95.6% of eligible voters.

December 1968 – IBEW re-applies for certification as the bargaining agent for the Electronics Occupational Group.

March 1969 – The PSSRB certifies Local 2228 IBEW as the representative of the Electronics Group. Des Davidge becomes our first full-time Business Manager.

April, 1969 – Bargaining for our first contract begins.

September, 1969 – A wildcat strike is held by air and marine technicians which forces the settlement of two contracts: one expiring in June of that year and the other in June 1971.

Back To Top

1971 to 1980 – A New Contract and Wildcat Strikes

June, 1971 – The expiry date of our second contract.

December, 1971 – Bargaining begins for a new contract.

February, 1972 – A three-week legal strike is held.

December, 1973 – A new contract is signed.

1976 – IBEW joins the International Federation of Air Traffic Safety Electronics Associations (IFATSEA).

1977 – The Local’s first set of goals is established.

1978 – The Ministry of Transport splits into Air and Coast Guard.

September, 1978 – Transport Canada Training Institute (TCTI) opens in Cornwall Ontario.

1979 – A wildcat strike is held over TCTI conditions. Electronic Technologist (EL) development training program is agreed to by the Local and the employer.

1980 – A wildcat strike, led by Vancouver ELs, is held over TCTI conditions. MOT begins to look at EL certification.

1980 – Gary Myers is elected President of IFATSEA.

Back To Top

1980 to 1990 – Consolidation and Growth Amidst Wage Controls

1981 – The first national seminar held of all the Local’s elected officers. Two new pay increments added to the existing collective agreement.

1982 – “6 & 5” wage controls implemented by the employer.

1983 – Local 2228 Business Office moves into current location at 1091 Wellington Street West in Ottawa.

1985 – After an aircraft incident Transport Canada starts a program enabling Electronic Technologists to certify electronic systems.

Back To Top

1991 to 2000 A 25th Anniversary Celebration Amidst Cutbacks

1991 – The federal government continues the suspension of collective bargaining for 2 more years, with the passage of Bill C-29. No strikes are permitted during this period.

1991 – The federal government Workforce Adjustment Policy comes into effect, establishing certain rights for employees facing layoffs.

1991 – The Local launches a bid to organize postal workers.

1992 – 25th anniversary of the Local.

1992 – Transport Canada centralizes their electronics Calibration Labs in Ottawa. The labs in Edmonton, Winnipeg, Toronto, Montreal and Moncton are closed.

1992 – The Ministerial Task Force recommends an “independent status for the Air Navigation System.”

1993 – A new EL job classification standard is approved by Treasury Board.

1993 – ELs in the Post Office re-classified into other occupational groups.

1994 – Wage increments of public service ELs are frozen, followed by a 2-year wage freeze, affecting 21% of our members.

1995 – Coast Guard members are moved from Transport Canada to the Department of Fisheries and Oceans.

1995 – Industry Canada re-writes the “Radio Inspector” job descriptions resulting in a reclassification of Radio Inspectors from the EL-4 level to the EL-5 level.

1996 – Transport Canada starts the process of transferring the air navigation management department to the newly formed not-for-profit corporation called NAV CANADA.

November 1997 – NAV CANADA obtains the sole right to maintain and manage the Canada skies. The Local celebrates its 30th anniversary.

Back To Top

2001 to the Present – Sharing our Knowledge with the World

July 2, 2001 – Eighty-eight NAV CANADA members frustrated by the slow pace of bargaining exercise a clause in the collective agreement and do not report for work.

2002 – Members approve a change in Local Union structure and reduce number of Executive Board members from nine to six. Local celebrates 35th anniversary.

2003 – Members of the Local involved with IFATSEA create a document helping Europe develop the first every Electronic Personnel training development manual. This is subsequently adopted by ICAO.

2004 – The ATSEP Training Manual is presented to the Tokyo Assembly on the October 6th.

2007 – Local 2228 celebrates its 40th.

2007 – Brother David Gainforth, retires as President after 26 years of service to the Local.

2008 – Local 2228 Executive Board bestows on Brother Gainforth the title “President Emeritus” in recognition for this outstanding commitment to the Local Union.

Back To Top